This guide written to describe how one can permanently delete a Facebook account, removing everything associated to their Facebook account. Read below to find out how you can not “disable” your Facebook account but PERMANENTLY DELETE it.

The first thing you will need to do is log into your Facebook account just as you normally would. Which will bring up a page the same, if not very similar to the screenshot below:

Facebook home page

 

Once you are logged into your Facebook account you must copy the URL below into the address bar at the top of your browser window and then hit enter.

http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account

 

or copy the text below into your address bar:

 

http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account

 

Once you have copied and pasted the above URL or clicked the hyperlink, you will be presented with the “Account Deletion” page, which will look like so:

Facebook account deletion page

 

You must click the blue “Submit” button, which will open the following popup window:

Permanently delete your account

 

Enter your password into the top text box, which is marked “Password”. Then you must enter the “CAPTCHA” text, which is in the picture above. The idea, in case you have never used this type of verification before, is that you enter the text in the picture into the text box beneath the picture to be sure that you are not a bot. Once you have entered your password and the text within the picture, you must click the blue “OK” button.

 

Now that you have entered your details and clicked the blue “OK” button, you will be presented with another popup, which will look like this:

Facebook account deletion notification

 

You will notice that in the small window the text will read as written below:

Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.

 

You now need to click the blue “OK” button once again. Once you have clicked the blue “OK” button, you will be redirected back to the login page, which will appear normally, just as shown below:

Returned to facebook login page

 

Your account will now be deleted after 14 days have passed since you clicked the last blue “OK” button. Be sure that you do not use any automatic logins to your Facebook account and also be sure that you must not login to your Facebook account through the Facebook login page or any other applications or websites that will log you into their site via your Facebook account.

Be sure to show this tutorial to anybody who you know are disabling their account only to accidentally reactivate it. Don’t just deactivate it, delete it! Enjoy your newfound Facebook account knowledge.

Advertisements